The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. The EEA Grants are available to the 13 EU member countries that joined the EU and the European Economic Area (EEA) in 2004, 2007 and 2013 as well as Greece and Portugal.

The decision-making body of the EEA Grants is the Financial Mechanism Committee, which is composed of representatives of the Foreign Ministries of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Areas of support

At least 30% of the funding is allocated to environmental protection, climate change measures and renewable energy. Improving energy efficiency and increasing the share of renewables in energy use is a key objective of the Grants. Funding backs projects to improve energy efficiency, develop energy efficiency initiatives for small businesses and increase renewable energy production. Curbing marine pollution, improving environmental monitoring and preserving biodiversity are also important priorities for the EEA Grants. NGO programmes worth €158 million are set up in all beneficiary countries of the EEA Grants. The funds are intended to promote a viable democratic system and respect for vulnerable groups, such as the Roma.

Programme areas

The EEA Grants 2014- 2021 support 23 programme areas under 5 priority sectors and funds, as follows:

1) Innovation, Research, Education and Competitiveness
2) Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction
3) Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy
4) Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance, and Fundamental Rights and Freedoms
5) Justice and Home Affairs

More about the EEA Grants here